« Live Coverage of Round 2 of the 2013 BMW Championship | Back to Main | Video: Hunter Mahan makes an ace at BMW Championship »

September 13, 2013

Video: Tiger slapped with 2-shot penalty for shifting golf ball while removing a twig

Posted at 8:09 PM by Golf.com | Categories: Tiger Woods

After completing his second round at the BMW Championship, Tiger Woods was informed that a freelance videographer captured video showing Woods' ball shift as he attempted to remove a twig resting against it. Woods was reportedly surprised at the penalty, and told rules officials he thought the ball oscillated without changing position. With the penalty, Woods' double-bogey 6 on the opening hole became a quadruple-bogey 8, and he's seven shots behind the leaders after two rounds.

Here's the video. You be the judge. Did the officials get it right?

For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @si_golf on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.

Add your comment, speak your mind

You can leave a comment without logging in. Or you can share your comment on one or more social networks by clicking the Login button and logging in to one or more of the social network options. Click on Share to choose how your post will be shared to friends.

Subscribe To Blog Headlines

Press Tent Archives

To view posts from a particular day,
simply select the date below.

December 2013
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31

<< Previous Months